
 

 

 

PUBLIC NOTICE: ACCESS TO RECORDS 

 
Provided pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 19.34. 

You have a right to inspect and copy certain records under Wisconsin’s Public Records Law, 
Wis. Stat. §§ 19.31-19.39. 

______________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

 

DEPARTMENT DESCRIPTION 

The Office of the Lieutenant Governor exists under the authority of Wis. Stat. § 14.31 to assist the 

Lieutenant Governor in carrying out the responsibilities specified under the Constitution and laws of the 

State of Wisconsin. 

 

PROCEDURE FOR MAKING REQUESTS 

Pursuant to Wis. Stat. ch. 19, the Lieutenant Governor is the legal custodian of the Office’s records. 

However, to facilitate public access to the records, this authority has been delegated to Daniel Suhr, Chief 

of Staff and Legal Counsel.   

 

Questions concerning application or interpretation of the public records law or requests for access to a 

record in this office should be directed to:  

 

Office of the Lt. Governor 

ATTN: Public Records 

19 East State Capitol 

Madison, WI 53702  

 

The Office of the Lieutenant Governor is located at 19 East State Capitol, Madison, Wisconsin, 53702, and 

is open Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., not including official state holidays. 

 

FEES 

The Office of the Lieutenant Governor may charge the actual, necessary, and direct cost of producing a 

record.  Wis. Stat. § 19.35(3)(a).  When the request calls for a copy of the record, and the record can be 

photocopied, a standard fee of $0.15 per printed page will be assessed.  Likewise, the standard fee for a 

burned compact disc (CD) is $0.14 per disc.  See Wis. Stat. § 19.35(3)(b).  If the record is not in readily 

comprehensible form, the Office of the Lieutenant Governor may charge the actual cost of creating a 

readily comprehensible copy.  WIREdata, Inc. v. Vill. of Sussex, 2008 WI 69, 310 Wis. 2d 397, 751 N.W.2d 

736.  The Office of the Lieutenant Governor may charge the actual, necessary, and direct transcription 

costs.  Wis. Stat. § 19.35(3)(a).  The Office of the Lieutenant Governor may charge the actual, necessary, 

and direct cost of locating the records if it exceeds $50.  Wis. Stat. § 19.35(3)(c).  Regardless of who 

processes the request, fees will be calculated based on the hourly wage of the lowest-paid staff member 

capable of performing the work.  If the records are mailed to the requester, the Office of the Lieutenant 

Governor may charge the actual, necessary, and direct shipping cost.  Wis. Stat. § 19.35(3)(d). 

 

Pre-payment of fees may be required if the total costs are greater than $5.  Wis. Stat. § 19.35(3)(f).  Fees 

totaling may be waived at the discretion of the Office of the Lieutenant Governor. 


